Let Your Inner Freedom Ring!

On this Independence Day, I am choosing to celebrate myself, my gifts, my strengths, and the freedom from the tyranny of my own tangled thoughts . . .

  •  I do what I want to do, not what I think I “should be doing.”  If I want to paint, I paint! If I’m tired, I nap!  If a friend calls for an impromptu lunch, and I am physically able, I go!
  • I no longer pretend to be “okay” just to make others feel better.  I know my illness can make others uncomfortable (no one wants to see a loved one hurting) but if I’m in pain, I say so.  To thine own body be true!
  • I communicate my own wants and needs.  I no longer hope others will “magically guess” what I need in any given moment.  If I don’t know how to express what I want, how are others supposed to figure it out?
  •   I advocate for my own well-beingIf a doctor isn’t fully listening or fully engaged in my care, I find a new one.
  • I am flexible and adaptable!
  • I choose to always find some glimmer of positive even in the most dire of circumstances.
  • I choose gratitude over “grumpitude!”
  •  After being given a 10% chance of surviving the night, and waking (alive!) on the morning of 3/20/07… I never, ever take a day of life for granted!
  •   I am the annoying friend who is always stopping mid-sentence to point out a rainbow,the way the clouds capture the light just so, a hawk sitting roadside,… and I love this about myself!
  • I live fully in the moment and encourage others to do the same.
  • I have a deep understanding and empathy for those going through life’s challenges.
  • I value the friendships in my life and am a good friend and confidante in return.
  • I take risks because why shouldn’t I?  This may be the only chance I have to experience something new and I don’t want to miss out on a single opportunity.
  • I don’t know how I’ll feel tomorrow, so I live in the Today.
  • I don’t wait to do things on my Bucket List!
  • I don’t shy away from an activity or trip, even if special arrangements need to be made to accommodate my “unique needs.”
  • I have an inner strength and will to live that I am deeply proud of!
  • I walk tall… celebrating the Goddess within me!
  • I find purpose in spreading HOPE to others.
  • I love to laugh and find keeping a smile on my face makes everything a little brighter!
  • I am a Survivor! (every scar is a roadmap, outlining my remarkable journey to live!)
  • My life is never dull!  And that’s pretty, darn cool (not many have such a complex “life story” at such a young age)!
  • I don’t take my anger or sadness out on others!
  • I am a constantly evolving woman… I keep re-inventing myself!
  • Just like our forebearers, I take a chance on living a life that may be difficult and tiresome… The rewards of living life in any way are worth the sacrifices!
  • I love watching fireworks! And even if I am too unwell to see them in person, I can always catch a good show on T.V. (Go Boston Pops!)
  • I am grateful to be alive today, to celebrate the FREEDOM that we all deserve!
I gratefully welcome your comments...

