We Each Have A Different Peak to Climb

Loomis Yurt; Waterville, NY

Loomis Yurt; Waterville, NY

A yurting we will go, a yurting we will go! Hi Ho a Merry-O, a yurting we will go!

As is typical with people who suddenly develop autoimmune conditions, I was an extremely active and healthy person before my body suddenly decided to turn on itself.

My husband and I would spend every warm week-end (and many of the cold, snowy ones, too) exploring the great outdoors.   While living in Boston, we would “conquer” a different leg of the Appalachian Trail each chance we got, and we would start a day-off with, “So, what state do you want to explore today?!”  We loved backpacking, canoeing, and camping, especially hidden, off the beaten path gems.

To me there was nothing better than huffing and puffing my way up a steep mountain incline, stopping several times with the distinct feeling “I would never make it,” only to rise to the challenge and arrive at the peak, collapsing in victory and taking in the vista I had whole-heartedly earned a view of.  We would daydream of future excursions with our children; first traveling on our backs and then racing us up the mountain on their own sturdy legs.

But, alas, life had a different plan in store for me.  The week I first became very ill was in fact only ten days after a week-end camping excursion.  We had been tented in a field of high grasses deep in the Catskill Mountains on the border of New York and Connecticut.  It wasn’t until a year later that doctors surmised I may have contracted Lyme Disease.  But, too much time had passed to really tell.  I tested positive, but in an unusual way of course: off the charts high on most markers, but low on the two the CDC considers “test positive.”  But even more ridiculous was the fact that I was told “Currently, there is no Lyme Disease in N.Y.S.”  Mind you, there were high levels in all surrounding states, but of course, deer know not to cross state lines, right? Hah!

No matter the journey, here I am today.  A woman who’s heart still yearns to answer the call of the wild, but whose body is unable to keep up the chase.  But the best way I’ve learned to accept my current condition and balance my wants with my abilities is to compromise.  And that’s where “yurting” comes in!..

As dawn of the first day of summer could be seen on the horizon, my husband and I begin to itch and twitch; our deep craving for a dose of the outdoors had begun! We started to dream of nights around the campfire, star sentinels marching their way across the sky… waking to the brisk morning air, waiting in anxious anticipation for the long brewing camp coffee… unplugging and unwinding… reading and playing scrabble… just quietly being.

And, thus, the search began for a place that would feed our wild spirits but would also accommodate my physical needs.  And that’s when we happened upon a Yurt rental nestled alone on 80 acres, just a mere 2 hours from us, yet light years away from city life.  The new term for this is “glamping” a twist on “glamorous camping.”  I don’t really care what outrageous term they attach to it.  For me, it’s called “possibility.”  It’s the world saying, “The life you love doesn’t have to stop.  You just have to adjust your compass and rechart your course!” 

We will be leaving for this adventure on Sunday and I can’t wait to let you know the outcome. 

“Solstice” describes a time when the sun reaches its highest peak in the sky.  Today, my peak is lower than it was before, but it’s hovering in a space that is attainable.  I choose not to set unrealistic goals, only to come up short and feel “less than” the rest of the world.  I am all that and more.  And so are you… for each of us, the height of our peaks are different.  So, for today, throw open the windows in the house of your soul, clear away the dust of days past, and inhale the sharp scent of a new season… filled with and abundance of new and yet to be imagined prospects

You don’t have to stop living.  You just have to start living differently!

Embrace the “different” in yourself and see what dreams you can come up with that will ignite your soul with a beacon of hope and possibility!

6 thoughts on “We Each Have A Different Peak to Climb

  1. What a wonderful outlook on life you have with all you have been through.

    We saw our first yurt in China in 1994. I’m interested in how you enjoyed your yurting so close to home.

    Live life to the fullest.
    Nob

  2. I’m still struggling with this part of dealing with chronic pain. I don’t even have a diagnosis to help me cope and it’s hard when I see everyone at school doing all the things I used to. I can’t play volleyball, badminton, scuba dive or even walk very far anymore. And all at age 16.

    But you’re right: chronic pain is about struggling to adapt to a new life. Not necessarily a worse life, but a different one. I’m definitely still struggling with that, but this article helped a lot. Thank you.

    • I’m glad you found comfort in this. Adaption takes time… be gentle with yourself and just take it one day (some times one moment!) at a time.

      When I was first struggling with accepting my chronically ill body, I found comfort in finding “like minded people” on the internet; people who truly understand what you’re going through.

      I know the struggle and frustration of waiting for a diagnosis (it took me almost 6 years); unfortunately the medical community still doesn’t know much about the thousands of autoimmune conditions. Hang in there, go to as many doctors as needed and trust your own self and your own body. Sometimes you have to repeat what’s going on over and over until someone finally sits up and pays attention!

      Let me know how you keep on.
      You’ll be in my thoughts- sending you healing energy, light. love & HOPE-
      Tamara

I gratefully welcome your comments...

